1888 at Hotel Del Coronado showcases items connected to L. Frank Baum, who wrote part of the “Wizard of Oz” series while living there

Online Literary Shops

Be an original! Find unique gifts and support literacy by visiting our favorite literary landmark shops. Each offers unusual and meaningful gift ideas for the book lovers, teachers, librarians, and history buffs in your life. Author Adventures receives no compensation from these inspiring stores other than pure delight.

1888 at Hotel Del Coronado (L. Frank Baum) (CA): https://store.hoteldel.com

Charles M. Schulz Museum Shop (CA): https://shop.schulzmuseum.org

Edgar Allan Poe House (VA): http://www.poemuseum.org/museum-store

Ernest Hemingway House Shop (FL): https://www.hemingwayhome.com/store

Frederick Douglass House Bookstore (DC): https://shop.americasnationalparks.org/store/home/3081/Frederick-Douglass-Home-National-Historic-Site

Georgia O’Keeffe’s Ghost Ranch (NM): https://www.ghostranch.org/trading-post

Hearst Castle (CA): http://shop.hearstcastle.org

James Madison’s Montpelier (VA): https://shop.montpelier.org

John F. Kennedy Presidential Library Store (MA): https://store.jfklibrary.org

Larry McMurtry’s Booked Up (TX): http://www.bookedupac.com

Library of Congress (DC): http://library-of-congress-shop.myshopify.com

Louise Erdrich’s Birchbark Books (MN): http://birchbarkbooks.com/onlineshop

Mark Twain House (CT): http://store.marktwainhouse.org

National Steinbeck Center Store (CA): https://www.steinbeck.org/shop

Norman Rockwell Museum (MA): http://store.nrm.org

Orchard House (MA): https://louisamayalcott.org/store

Plimoth Plantation (MA): http://www.plimoth.org/plan-your-visit/shop

Powell’s Books (OR): http://www.powells.com

Prairie Lights (IA): http://www.prairielights.com

The Strand (NY): http://www.strandbooks.com/about-strand-books

Tattered Cover (CO): http://www.tatteredcover.com

Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello (VA): http://www.monticelloshop.org

And don’t miss UneekDollDesigns, whose miniature dolls of famous writers appear on several pages of authoradventures.org. An example is here: Emily Dickinson.

Birchbark Books in Minnesota

Patricia Smart