1888 at Hotel Del Coronado showcases items connected to L. Frank Baum, who wrote part of the “Wizard of Oz” series while living there

Be an original! Find unique gifts and support literacy by visiting our favorite literary landmark shops. Each offers unusual and meaningful gift ideas for the book lovers, teachers, librarians, and history buffs in your life. Author Adventures receives no compensation from these fantastic stores other than sheer joy.

BirchBark children's section
Birchbark Books

1888 at Hotel Del Coronado (CA): https://store.hoteldel.com

Birchbark Books (MN): birchbarkbooks.com/onlineshop

Booked Up (TX): bookedupac.com

Fairchild Garden (FL): store.fairchildonline.com

Franklin Institute (PA): scistore.fi.edu

Ghost Ranch (NM):ghostranch.org/trading-post

Hearst Castle (CA): shop.hearstcastle.org

The King Center (GA): choosenonviolence.org/bookstore

Library of Congress (DC): library-of-congress-shop.myshopify.com

Margaret Mitchell House (GA): atlantahistorycenter.com

Mark Twain House (CT): store.marktwainhouse.org

Monticello (VA): monticelloshop.org

Norman Rockwell Museum (MA): store.nrm.org

Old Salem Museum & Gardens (NC): shop.oldsalem.org

Orchard House (MA): louisamayalcott.org/shop.html

Plimoth Plantation (MA): plimoth.org/plan-your-visit/shop

Powell’s Books (OR): powells.com

Prairie Lights (IA): prairielights.com

The Strand (NY): strandbooks.com/about-strand-books

Tattered Cover (CO): tatteredcover.com

And don’t miss checking out UneekDollDesigns, whose one-of-a-kind miniature dolls of literary figures appear on several pages of authoradventures.org. An example is here: Emily Dickinson.